SQL Server 2008 Prevent Saving Changes Setting

SQL Server 2008 has a setting that PREVENTS saving certain table schema changes (such as changing column order) – and this setting is ENABLED by default.

When I first encountered the effects of this setting, I was attempting to rearrange the column order of a table. Using the GUI, I went to the table design view and moved one column in front of another.

When I hit ‘Save’, I received this message:

When a table’s schema is changed, the process that SQL Server performs drops the table and recreates it. The new setting that prevents this is called ‘Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation‘, and it’s easy enough to turn off. I’m sure it has been put in place as a safeguard to prevent unintended table changes. To turn off the setting, go to (on the menu bar) Tools/Options/Designers/Table and Database Designers, then under the Table Options section, uncheck Prevent saving changes….

Schema changes will not be blocked.  You’re welcome.

About these ads

Posted on April 28, 2010, in SQL Server and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you!

  2. thanks ! VERY HELPFUL !

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: